RSS Feed

The Contribution of Jewelry

I’ve often struggled with my career choice because of its superficial nature. In a world where poverty, disease, and war are prevalent, what real good does my work do? I contented myself to donate as much as I can and know that as my business grows, I will be able to do more. One of my goals is to be able to employ skilled artisans in third world countries for living wages, and provide a safe, comfortable world environment for them. Ideally, they’d also get paid hours to use the facilities, and design their own work. Maybe a few will be able to grow their own dreams from this opportunity.

I drive myself hard, not just for my future, but the imagined dreams of my future employees. Every day I work is one day closer to changing lives for the better. But on a day to day basis, it’s hard to see what good comes from my work. Who really benefits from a pretty bauble?

So I thought about why we wear pretty things. Why we have a favorite pair of jeans, or a favorite ring. Because wearing it makes us feel good. I don’t know about you, but when I feel good, I treat people better. I laugh more, forgive more, go out of my way to help more. And if I can create jewelry that makes people feel better, and treat others well, then it’s a worthy occupation. It’s not as dramatic as being a first responder, or an inner city teacher, but it does create a little kindness in the world.

The beautiful, happy Hannah

The beautiful, happy Hannah

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

