RSS Feed

The Origins of Towee, my literary shop!

Welcome to the introduction Towee, love-child of my bookish nature and my artistic side!

“The maiden had taken a pomegranate which Pluto offered her, and had sucked the sweet pulp from a few of the seeds.”
-Bulfinch’s Mythology

Those of you who are familiar with Lyssa’s Stuff (and those of you who are not) will find that Towee takes my jewelry collection in a new direction. Every piece in Towee is inspired by a literary quote. Some are quotes about books, but most are quotes from books. The quotes from books are those that have stuck in my head for years and have in some cases caused no end of contemplation.

“He was just a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But I made him my friend, and now he is unique in the world.”
-The Little Prince

All pieces are handmade from fine silver or sterling silver. I’ve been really having a blast with my PMC (precious metal clay) and learning the differences between PMC3 and the new Sterling PMC.

“Suddenly there was a great burst of light through the Darkness. The light spread out and where it touched the Darkness the Darkness disappeared. The light spread until the patch of Dark Thing had vanished, and there was only a gentle shining, and through the shining came the stars, clear and pure.”
-A Wrinkle in Time

Now you may wonder why on earth I have named the shop “Towee.” No, the inspiration was not the bird, nor the boat. The story comes from my earliest days of speaking, when I was not yet two years old. I was in the baby seat in the back of the car, my dad was driving. According to him, I said, “Daddy, towee.” He tried several times to guess what I was trying to say, but never succeeded. He quit, and we both traveled in silence a while until I said, “Daddy, liburary, book, towee.” He finally understood that I wanted him to tell me a story while we traveled along. That moment has become family lore, and “story” has been “towee” ever since.

“The sea is everything. It covers seven tenths of the terrestrial globe. Its breath is pure and healthy. It is an immense desert, where man is never lonely, for he feels life stirring on all sides.”
-20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

And now I can set aside money for books and call it “business expenses” instead of unnecessary fun items! Isn’t that fantastic? I’ve also expanded away from earrings; these are the latest in Towee, my stacking rings.

“’Surely you know what a kiss is?’ she asked, aghast. ‘I shall know when you give it to me,’
-Peter and Wendy

 So there we have it! Towee!

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

