RSS Feed

Stacking Ring Fun

Today I thought I would share a new thing I’ve been having fun with! I’ve discovered how to make sterling silver stacking rings using 16g 1/2 hard sterling silver wire, and the wonderful new PMC Sterling.

PMC Sterling is the newest addition to the PMC family, and I’ve been itching to find out how it works. When fired, the piece shrinks by 15-20%, which means that pieces turn out even more tiny and detailed than I originally made them. I LOVE tiny and detailed. I’ve found that I like working with it very much, even though it tends to stick to my non-silicon tools more than the other PMC’s. But that’s easily remedied with a little Slik. There was also the tendency for my sanding tools to get gunked up, but I made slip out of it when I was finished sanding, so no waste!

“’Surely you know what a kiss is?’ she asked, aghast. ‘I shall know when you give it to me,’
Peter and Wendy

These were my first EVER rings! I’ve never made them with wrapped wire, never made them with polymer (successfully). I do make rings out of straw wrappers when I’m waiting for food, does that count? These two little rings are from J M Barrie‘s Peter and Wendy (also known as Peter Pan), one of my favorite stories in the world. In fact, my graduation present was to Boston to see Peter Pan 360. It was AWESOME!!

The thimble is the kiss that Wendy gives Peter, and the acorn is the kiss Peter gives in return, which later saves her life.

The next set I did were from Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea! I’m a huge fan of Verne and of steampunk fashion. I went to Dragon*Con as a steampunk kid last year. 🙂

“The sea is everything. It covers seven tenths of the terrestrial globe. Its breath is pure and healthy. It is an immense desert, where man is never lonely, for he feels life stirring on all sides.”
-20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

There is a sea shell, a tiny sea anemone, and a cluster of barnacles (textured from real barnacles I picked up at the beach.)

That’s all for today!

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

