RSS Feed

Commander, you have a new message at your private terminal

So I just had an absolutely lovely time in the Philippines (which I still need to blog about…sorry) and arrived back home at around 7:30 on the 14th. The flight was really rough. Lots of turbulence, and since I had an aisle seat, I found it hard to sleep. The result was one very tired Lyssa who had only 4 hrs sleep during my 26 hr travel.

As wonderful as being in the Philippines with my Mom was, I missed my boyfriend terribly. When I saw him waiting for me, I ran to him. Showered him with mushlovey hugs and kisses. A friend of ours had come with him, and I figured that they’d had a geek night and he’d come along to welcome me back. “Pictures! I’ll take pictures of you coming home!” he said. So, dutifully, I got in position with Elliot for photos.

Then another friend appears, and hands me this saying, “Commander, you have a new message at your private terminal.” (If you didn’t know, my favorite video game series ever is Mass Effect, and yes, I was ok with the ending.)

Image

My boyfriend had bought me an N7 hoodie for Christmas last year, so every time I wear it, at least one person calls me Commander. I thought this was a cute little welcome home with a reference to my hoodie.

I opened the envelope and pulled out the mostΒ guapoΒ picture of my boyfriend, the same one I’d been showing off to every family member in the Philippines.

Image

Now, keep in mind that I haven’t slept in 22 hours. The wheels in my head ground to a halt. I stared at it, trying to wrap my mind around what I was seeing. “Will you marry me?

Shocked, I looked up from the photo to see my boyfriend kneeling in front of me with a beautiful opal ring nestled in a blue box, and it finally clicked.

I dropped to the floor, my happiness overwhelming me. “Yes!” I squeaked out. “YES YES YES!” I threw myself on him, both of us on the floor laughing like lunatics.

A smattering of applause came from the onlookers. Finally, we made it off the floor, and he slipped the ring on my finger with trembling hands.

Image

I amΒ ecstatic! I get to marry the man who is not only my love, but my best friend and confidant. The man who has been there for me at my best, and not so best. The one who loves me unconditionally through all my flaws, and never judges me. The one who makes up silly songs with me and dances to Frank Sinatra in the kitchen. The one I can can talk to about anything.

Even after years together, I still get butterflies thinking about him. During my Philippines trip, it wasn’t the US I missed, it was him. I have never had a second thought about being with him, even when we disagree. I’m thrilled to call him my fiancee, and look forward to calling him my husband.

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

36 responses »

  1. The most perfect start to a beautiful life together. This made me cry…!! I love you!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hi Lyssa, I finally found you! It’s Mary from Palawan. Anyway, it took me a while to get around to looking at your stuff, and I absolutely love them! And congrats on getting engaged πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you. Anyway, I can’t find you on facebook, so I’ll give you mine, Mary Elizabeth. From Toronto.

    Like

    Reply
  3. You should have said “Investigate”, just to see what he would have said. πŸ˜›

    Like

    Reply
  4. SUPER CUTE! Congrats!

    p.s. I have the Elite N7 hoodie and I pretty much live in it. It’s the best feeling when people reference it.

    Like

    Reply
  5. That is so awesome! I love that people call you Commander too, I would love that πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  6. Keith Murfee-DeConcini

    Hello, I’m Keith Murfee-DeConcini, a big Mass Effect fan myself, The Mass Effect Facebook page posted a link to this story and I must say it was absolutely wonderful to read, very out of the box way of asking someone to marry you but also very creative and memorable as well. I teared up at the end. Many blessings to you both on your amazing journey ahead Commander….

    Like

    Reply
  7. congrats to you,both. may you both live happily ever after,commander.

    general michaels of the E.D.C.

    Like

    Reply
  8. As your fellow N7 operative, I would say that this was well done. Well done indeed.

    A big salute to the fiance!

    Now, I wonder… if your friends know you love ME so much, will someone do a rendition of Mordin’s legendary song and dance at your wedding reception? XD

    Also, as a Filipino, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay ^_^

    Like

    Reply
    • Oh I hope so! I sing his “Scientist Salarian” song all the time! Being a theatre kid, I loved it because it was such a well done parody! I hope someone starts singing this at the reception. We should have a karaoke just for that! It would be the proper Filipino thing to do, right? πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply
  9. This is turian soldier Aephus Ezpho and this is the best wedding proposal on the Citadel!

    Now seriously, I’ve seen the post on Facebook and I must say, I was surprised that someone actually used the Mass Effect options in this way. I was expecting something like what all women fans wanted: that Garrus-Shepard romance on Mass Effect 3. If he did that, then I’m happy to announce you found your Vakarian!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Commander Shepard

    you should have clicked investigate, i wanted to see what the paragon and renegade responses were : /

    Like

    Reply
    • Hello Commander Shepard!
      I did indeed Investigate, I forgot to put that in because it was after the YES! So I guess it didn’t really count? He was still kneeling, and I got back on my feet, and said, “Investigate! What is this?” And he just kept laughing at me. πŸ™‚
      “When?” is also under investigate, but unfortunately, it bugged, and we still don’t know when. πŸ˜›

      Like

      Reply
  11. This is soooo beautiful! Many congratulations! πŸ˜€

    A few silly notes:
    1. My name is also Melissa
    2. I own the same N7 hoodie
    3. The blog title is my phone’s new-email sound
    4. We have the same motherland (though I wasn’t born there)
    5. We have the same CMS running our blogs

    ARE WE CLONES?!

    Like

    Reply
    • TWIN!!! Haha! Where were you born? I was actually born here in the states, although my Mom was born and raised in the PH.
      1. I also love grilled cheese, and don’t really like veggies.
      2. I also love SIMS! And Medieval! But I haven’t bought SIMS Medieval yet…
      3. I also think IronMan is the man

      We really might be clones…YAY!

      Like

      Reply
      • HAH, WOW!

        I was born in California (central coast). My dad was born in the Philippines, but moved here when he was about 3 years old.

        1. YES!
        2. Super yes! Medieval is so hilarious
        3. OMG yes!

        No wonder my bf shared your post with me! It’s lovely to “meet” you and I really am glad you shared this story!

        [However, my logged in name above links you to my old “blog”..Logging in with Twitter this time. I’ve since moved over to my own WP host/domain at http://www.mewissa.com/ πŸ™‚ ]

        Like

      • Found your new blog! What a cute kitty! We have a small, cat-like dog. πŸ˜› So great “meeting” you too!

        Like

  12. Congratulations…I really loved all you wrote. “You’re born to do this”

    Like

    Reply
  13. Finaly someone who like the ending I m not the only one,and congratulations.Best game of all times.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Pingback: This Mass Effect Proposal Is My Favorite Romantic Gesture On The Citadel | Giant Freakin Robot

  15. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thank you

    Like

    Reply
  16. Hey! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone4.
    I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.

    If you have any recommendations, please share. Thank you!

    Like

    Reply
    • Hi!
      I’m not sure how to make it mobile friendly. I think that’s up to WordPress itself? (Correct me if I’m wrong, I’m not the most tech savvy!) But I did download the iPhone WordPress app, and that makes a lot of difference! Looks so much better. πŸ™‚
      Sorry I can’t help more, but good luck!
      Lyssa

      Like

      Reply
  17. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it
    πŸ˜‰ I am going to revisit yet again since i have book marked
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    help other people.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Pingback: The Wedding is almost HERE! And I’m not ready. | Melissa Dawn Makes

Leave a Reply

