RSS Feed

Hadar’s Clay Brilliant Bronze

Last summer, I branched out from polymer clay into the world of metal clay, and discovered Hadar Jacobson’s powdered metal clays. GREAT! Because I tend to work small, I don’t use an entire packet of PMC3 in one sitting. This means that next time I want to work with it, I have to reconstitute it.

With Hadar’s Clay, you can mix however much you think you’re going to need, and the rest can stay in powdered form! Genius. I ordered her new Brilliant Bronze because it has a gorgeous golden color without the price of gold. Here’s one of Hadar’s photos showing the Brilliant Bronze next to gold.

Image

So, I experimented! I made a pair of earrings that I call my little geodes to see how well they shine up, and if the clay holds a fine texture well. The outside was sanded smooth before firing, and the inside is textured with a bit of rock I found on my Philippines adventure.

After firing, they had a crunchy dull colored coat on them, but it comes off very easily in the finishing process. I used varying grades of sandpaper on my split mandrel, and finished it off with my micro mesh sanding pads.

They fully sintered, and are very strong. Trust me, I’ve been dropping them all day. I’m a klutz. Unfortunately, I buried them a little to deep in the carbon during firing, and the back blistered a little. But now I know!

My other test piece was a simple ring. I wanted to see if an overlap seam with no blending would hold up during both firing, and hammering. It did!

I rolled it on a texture sheet so the design is very shallow to see if it would be distorted in any way, or sand off during the finishing. The texture prevails! And the joint holds!

All in all, I’m thrilled with the Brilliant Bronze clay.

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Store story! The origins of Lyssa’s Stuff « melissadawnmakes

  2. Pingback: The Origins of Towee, my literary shop! « melissadawnmakes

  3. Pingback: Sculpting with Goldie Bronze Metal Clay | melissadawnmakes

Leave a Reply

