RSS Feed

I am a Kinesthetic Learner. I touch everything.

Everyone learns differently. Some learn by seeing it, others by hearing it. I learn by touching it. Moving it. Messing with it. Pretending to do it. Like memorizing phone numbers! If I want to remember my finacee’s number, I pretend I’m punching it into my phone, and voila! I remember the number!

I’ve always been this way. I’ve gotten in trouble during classes for doodling, wiggling, tapping, building little paperclip dolls, but I can repeat back everything they’ve been saying.

I was thinking about this today while playing with my stainless steel shot. 

Image

 

Look at the stuff! Don’t you want to run your fingers through it? Well. I just spent five minutes doing that. It was wonderful. Cold and heavy and smooth.

Back to the learning. Being a kinesthetic learner has been great for me. If I can take it apart and check it out while it works, chances are I can fix it when it’s broken. Or origami! That’s a prime example! Looking at the pictures in a tutorial, I get lost very easily. It overwhelms me. But if I take it step by step physically, it clicks. “Well, duh Lyssa! Of course you have to fold the edges in! How else would the wings stay joined?”

Image

 

I think learning this way has actually been great for me as an entrepreneur. Since it’s just me right now, I fulfill every role. And by doing everything from the creation to the budgeting and marketing, I’m learning skills I previously thought I could never master. Like simple math, haha!

That’s my introspect for the day, time to get back to making!

Also, my fiancee is currently playing samurai with his umbrella. 

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

One response »

  1. No HaraKiri, please!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

