RSS Feed

Back to the Theatre

Last week I disappeared off to the mountains of North Carolina. Beautiful place. My fiancee and I fell in love with it when we spent a weekend there 3 years ago, and have been aching to go back ever since.

Image

My pit stop on the drive up the mountain! I got here right at sundown.

This trip however, was less hiking and gem mining, and more work. After graduating with a BFA in Costume Design and Construction, I haven’t worked in a theatre at all. Instead, I’ve been building my jewelry business from home. But after 2 years away from the craziness of backstage, I got a call to help out with costume construction for a week.

Image

One of the little shopping squares off the street. On the right side is Kilwins!! Mmm, fudge, ice cream, and chocolates…

Obviously, I jumped at it. I left the morning after I got the call and drove the 6 hours across the state and up the mountains to Highlands, NC. What a gorgeous little town! We were so busy making costumes and doing alterations that I only got to see it in the daylight once the whole week.

Image

If any of you at the Lodge are reading this, those are blackberries outside, and they’re going to be delicious.

But what makes a job like that really great are the people, and these people were top notch. They all made me feel welcome, even if I was just a temp joining their summer stock on the last show.

Image

Look! No photosynthesis! They’re such cute little plants. They look like Bellsprout.

Now that I’m back home again, I miss it. My apartment seems smaller and quieter and I find myself talking to my dog a lot more than I used to, haha!

Image

“Bust-Your-Butt” Falls! Beautiful! This is where I stopped on my way down the mountain. Wish I could have jumped in for a bit!

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

