RSS Feed

My Hobby- Freshwater Fishkeeping

Since I have a lovely camera, and two lovely fish tanks, I decided to document my hobby! I’m always looking for more aquatic plants, and saving up for new (better!) equipment. Right now, my wish list is a high output light fixture for my 20 gal long tank, and maybe a pressurized CO2 system for my 20 as well so I can quit doing my yeast thing. And plants. MORE PLANTS!

Planted 20 gal long, DIY CO2, many baby guppies, 2 German Blue Rams, 2 Oto catfish. I'm saving up for better lighting!

Planted 20 gal long, DIY CO2, many baby guppies, 2 German Blue Rams, 2 Oto catfish. I’m saving up for better lighting!

This is one of my new German Blue Rams. Not fully colored yet, so I think it's a juvenile?

This is one of my new German Blue Rams. Not fully colored yet, so I think it’s a juvenile?

One of my two tiny Oto catfish! He's new, so I'm hoping he figures out that the zucchini is food. Luckily, there's a bunch of algae in the tank!

One of my two tiny Oto catfish! He’s new, so I’m hoping he figures out that the zucchini is food. Luckily, there’s a bunch of algae in the tank!

Full view of my 20 gal long. I have a DIY Co2 system, dwarf hairgrass, dwarf baby tears, kyoto grass, an amazon sword (out of the pic) and a mystery tall plant (jungle val maybe? Or spiralis? HELP!)

Full view of my 20 gal long. I have a DIY Co2 system, dwarf hairgrass, dwarf baby tears, kyoto grass, an amazon sword (out of the pic) and a mystery tall plant (jungle val maybe? Or spiralis? HELP!)

My shy German Blue Ram. She has tons of hiding spots, but this is the only one I could photograph her in.

My shy German Blue Ram. She has tons of hiding spots, but this is the only one I could photograph her in.

Full view of my 10 gal! No CO2, lightly planted, with 2 guppies, 4 harlequin rasboras, and a pleco. Bi weekly water changes because of the  pleco.

Full view of my 10 gal! No CO2, lightly planted, with 2 guppies, 4 harlequin rasboras, and a pleco. Bi weekly water changes because of the pleco.

 

10 gal planted- My amazon swords LOVE it. I've had this bunch for over a year, and I keep having to split it off. I have three other bunches that came from it, and it's still enough to hid the Pleco. (Don't worry! I change the water a lot, so the pleco isn't overwhelming the tank.)

10 gal planted- My amazon swords LOVE it. I’ve had this bunch for over a year, and I keep having to split it off. I have three other bunches that came from it, and it’s still enough to hid the Pleco. (Don’t worry! I change the water a lot, so the pleco isn’t overwhelming the tank.)

The ONLY shot I could get of my two male guppies in the 10 gal. They were born in the 20, but I moved them over so they'd stop making more babies.

The ONLY shot I could get of my two male guppies in the 10 gal. They were born in the 20, but I moved them over so they’d stop making more babies.

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

2 responses »

  1. I love German Rams, they’re so lovely once they mature and colour up. (I like Harlequins too, but I just can’t seem to keep them…) Your faux wood ornament is really nice, I can never find one that doesn’t look cheap/tacky/totally fake. Cant’ wait to see how your tanks evolve.

    Like

    Reply
    • Would you believe I found that fake driftwoon in the reptile section? It looks so much better than anything in the aquarium section!
      My “blondie” Ram has been coloring pretty much over night! She’s lovely! I ended up having to change things already because both rams wanted to claim the driftwood. I’ll post new pictures once it’s pretty again!
      Harlequins are so cute! Mine actually play in the filter stream. They ride it like a roller coaster!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

