RSS Feed

Carving, carving, carving

Carving, carving, carving

As you can probably tell, I work mostly in 3D. The closest I get to 2D in my jewelry is surface embellishment in my polymer clay, and even that is built in a 3D way through caning.

I do like to doodle though!

Image

Since I want to start experimenting more with metal clay textures instead of my sculpting comfort zone, I decided to create my own texture plates based on my doodles.
I have an ImagePak stampmaker, but since my designs have so many tiny areas, the skinny ridges and dots came off while cleaning the stamp. That left me with one option: carve it myself.

My carving skills are very basic. I’ve carved lines on a rubber block, but ended up investing in the stamp maker for any real drawing. I took a piece of polymer clay and baked it, then pulled out my needle tool, Speedball and Dockyard carvers, and Sharpie, and went to town.

Image

About 2 hrs in! (I was making up the doodle as I went along.)

Luckily, my fiancee had the day off work, so I just sat next to him on the couch watching him play Arkham Asylum (which is pretty awesome, even if I’m not a Batman fan. I’m more of a Marvel girl than DC) and carving away.

Image

6 hrs in! I only stopped because a friend invited us to a cookout.

I (reluctantly) stopped for dinner and had a great time with our friends, but by 10, I was itching to get back to my doodle.

Image

Here we are at 2 am! Finally finished!

Finished! And then I realized that since this was what I wanted the texture to look like, I needed to make an inverse of it. So, another layer of polymer and baking using this as a mold, and voila!

Now that I’ve made the tool, I can get to work on the pieces!

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

