RSS Feed

Arts and Crafts Festival in Wilmington

On Saturday the 14th of December we had a table at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Wilmington Holiday Festival. It was so much fun! There were 23 artist vendors, not only selling wares appropriate to the season, but also supporting various causes. They served up snacks and soft drinks made by members and sold by the youth group to support their programs. One member sold many of her excess holiday decorations and donated all of the proceeds to the youth program. I decided to donate 10% of my sales to the Good Friends of Wilmington, an organization I only recently heard about.

This girl is awesome!

This girl is awesome!

 Among the very interesting people I met there was a fellow polymer clay artist who works in the steampunk genre. I am a big steampunk fan, so we shared a moment on that topic which quickly moved into technical issues we face and our love of clay working. Cyndi Buell creates the most wonderful one of a kind creations, so keep an eye on her Facebook for all the new critters! Watch her. Do it. Best of all, we are arranging a “clay date” for early next year. Who knows what weird and wonderful things can come out of our mixing styles.

I also experienced a touching gesture on the part of one of my apparent new fans. Chrystal and I had a long, wonderful conversation, and she bought a pair of my Infinity Twists, which she immediately put on to wear. Later she left the festival and went home. Still later, there she was again, to purchase another pair of twists and a ring. It warms my heart when someone so loves my work. As they say, actions speak louder than words.

My thanks to Sharon Moore, whose professionalism in arranging this festival was outstanding. Thanks also to my fiance, Elliot and my dad, Marvin, for their moral support (as well as fetching refreshments and helping with set up and take down).

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

