RSS Feed

A Family Outing Resulting in Baldness

A Family Outing Resulting in Baldness

Note the goatee! Also, that is a lot of hair I have pinned up in there!

Married life is just as I thought it would be. Exactly the same as our unmarried life, except with weirder taxes. We’re always trying to find budget friendly activities to do together. There’s only so much pizza and Netflix a couple can do!

Last weekend, my husband and I found the perfect activity- supporting our community! One of my husband’s coworkers organized a St. Baldrick’s Day event.

St. Baldrick’s Foundation raises money for childhood cancer research and aims to bridge the funding divide between adult cancers and childhood cancers. Volunteers can organize what’s called a Head Shaving Event. At these events, volunteers from around the community take donations from friends, family and even coworkers to donate as they shave their heads.

My husband is the exact opposite of me. He has very little hair on his head. But what he does have is his beloved goatee. For the past five and a half years, where he goes, his goatee goes. In the beginning, his fundraising wasn’t brilliant. He would get a few dollars here and there, but it wasn’t until he put a bounty on his goatee that the donations started pouring in. (Who doesn’t want to fight cancer while watching people you love have potentially unflattering hair?)

So much hair!

So much hair!

Inspired by his donation, I booked myself an appointment to have 12 inches of hair cut off and made into a wig by the non-profit organization Wigs for Kids. I really love this organization because the recipients of the wigs do not pay for them.

The results of our family outing!

We had a lovely time at the St. Baldrick’s event despite the torrential rain! It was entertaining, high energy, and right outside Natty Greene’s in Raleigh. If you’re in the area, I recommend the chicken tenders. Wow, are they good. We also won a cake in the Cake Walk raffle, so we’ve been chowing down on a delicious homemade Irish Carbomb cake for the past few days. All in all, a fantastic day of bonding with my husband for a wonderful cause!

haircollage

Before and After!

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

