RSS Feed

Maker Monday! Donna Kato

Maker Monday! Donna Kato

It’s Maker Monday again! Yes, I know Monday is usually reserved for our man crushes, but I couldn’t find another alliterative day of the week. (Tinker Tuesday? Not so much.)

5470703972_48dd93f08e

Really, how fantastic is she?

 

This week’s wonderful maker is Donna Kato. As some of you might know, I didn’t start out working in metals. I started a shop on Etsy called Lyssa’s Stuff in college to help with tuition, and it was all polymer clay. I love polymer clay to this day, and Donna Kato was a huge part of that. Not that she knows this.

strpedbeads1

Look at these colors!

Her work is colorful and creative, and I’ve loved learning from her books, and from just seeing her work online and being inspired by it. When I was first starting out, I just looked up tutorials online, but when I became serious about expanding my techniques, I immediately went out and bought her book “The Art of Polymer Clay: Millefiori Techniques.” If you’ve ever wanted to try your hand at polymer clay, I highly recommend it!

61rg0o5fjvl-_uy250_

Donna Kato also created her own brand of clay, which is probably the best one out there. Just my humble opinion. When you bake Sculpy, sometimes the colors shift. Reds, blues and purples tend to get really dark, and if you were counting on the color that’s in the pack, you’re out of luck. Kato Polyclay doesn’t do that. What you see is what you get.  Another great thing about the colors is that they’re based on the color wheel, unlike Sculpy. When you’re mixing new colors with Polyclay, it’s like mixing paints. It’s also amazingly sturdy! The strongest pieces I’ve ever made are Polyclay.

You can pick up Kato Polyclay online here, or at Hobby Lobby. (Not that I shop there very often; I’ve read of some rather questionable business practices of theirs. )

If you’re ever in need of a visual pick-me-up, just look up Donna Kato’s work, and the colors alone are guaranteed to make you happy.

That’s it for this Maker Monday! I wish you much creativity, and if you do try polymer clay, look for Donna Kato!

 

 

 

About melissadawnmakes

Hi! I'm Lyssa, the creator behind Melissa Dawn Designs! I work with PMC and Goldie Bronze metal clays to design jewelry inspired by literature, video games, and pop culture. I'll be posting a lot of works in progress, and am happy to create some tutorials if you have any questions about metal clay. You can find my work at ww.melissadawndesigns.com And I'm very active on Instagram @melissadawnjewelry Visit my Facebook Page for special offers, notifications of new items, and general fun stuff! Special offers are now happening more frequently, so be there often! :) https://www.facebook.com/lyssasstuff I also have a Tumblr blog, which I will update more frequently now! In it I post my new pieces: https://www.melissadawnmakes.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

